The ultimate social media privacy guide

7 Jan 2022

It’s no secret that using social media platforms comes with risks. Signing up to various accounts puts our data out there – and posting regularly shares our thoughts and images with the world. Even when we delete them, they’re never really gone.

But we also know how beneficial and positive social media can be for connecting, networking and finding like-minded people. The good news is that there are steps we can all take to minimise risks, and to protect our privacy. Schillings’ cybersecurity experts have put together the ultimate social media privacy guide, full of tips, tricks and easy changes we can all make to make our online experience a safer one.

Here are some of the easiest actions to take right now:

1. Make your WhatsApp messages disappear

Don’t want your messages sticking around? Go to the contact page of the person you want to use this feature with. From there, scroll down to Disappearing messages, and hit On.

2. Prevent Instagram from using your data for targeted advertisement

If you’re fed up of – or a bit unnerved at – seeing an advert for that thing you were talking about pop up on your Instagram feed, there’s a solution. Go to your profile by clicking the icon in the bottom right. Open the menu in the top right, tap Settings, go to Ads and then go to Data About Your Activity From Partners. Switch the toggles off for all the accounts listed.

3. Review who can see or download your email address on LinkedIn

Make sure your personal details are protected whilst networking. On a laptop or desktop, navigate to your profile picture on the top right. Click the down arrow under ‘Me’, and scroll down to Settings and Privacy, go to Visibility in the left column, under Visibility of your profile and network, click Change next to Who can see or download your email address, select Only visible to me, and toggle off the option for your connections to download your email in their data export.

4. Make an account private on TikTok

TikTok accounts are public by default, which means anyone can see what you’re posting. In the profile, tap the three horizontal buttons at the top right of the screen, select Privacy, turn on Private account.

5. Remove your Facebook account from Google

Want to ensure your Facebook profile doesn’t pop up when someone searches for you on Google? On the main Facebook page, click the downward-facing arrow in the top right corner of the screen. Click on Settings and Privacy, and then go to Settings. Select Privacy in the left column. Under How people can find and contact you, go to Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile? and click on Edit. Uncheck the box on the bottom of the screen to turn off the setting.

Want to learn more? Sign up and download our free full social media privacy guide, covering Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, Twitter, WhatsApp, LinkedIn, Zoom, Netflix and Amazon, created by Schillings Cybersecurity experts.

Sign up for access

"*" indicates required fields

By ticking this box, you are confirming that you are happy for us to send you direct marketing, such as newsletters and event invitations. For full details please see our Privacy policy. We advise that you read this Policy before you click subscribe.*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.